Wed 20 March, 7pm – Eugene Goossens Hall

Edward Neeman, piano

Event description


Sofia GUBAIDULINA (b. 1931)
Piano Quintet (1957) 30’

Sergei TANEYEV (1856-1915)
Piano Quintet (1911) 45’

RUSSIAN QUINTET comprises two rarely programmed works rapidly gaining in popularity in chamber music performances around the world. Sofia Gubaidulina's Piano Quintet, composed in 1957 when she was still a student, bears the influences of her supporter Shostakovich while weaving a masterful sound world and a charming musical narrative distinctly of her own. Sergei Taneyev's colossal Piano Quintet of 1911 is coming to be recognised as the jewel in the crown of Russian chamber music. Encompassing the full spectrum of musical emotion, it is by turns a quintet, a symphony, and a concerto for each player. For their first concert of 2019, APQ are joined by Edward Neeman (piano) and Anna Da Silva Chen (violin).

Kristian Winther, violin
James Wannan, viola
Thomas Rann, viola